On the 18th of December 2020, a landslide struck the museum´s premises. Many historical buildings we destroyed or damaged, together with the museums´s offices, part of the exhibition and the collection storage. The main focus of Technical Museum of East Iceland has been on the influx of modern times from around 1880 to 1950. Topics include technical innovations in areas such as mechanics, electricity, communications, shipbuilding, commerce and architecture and how they interlaced with changes in lifestyle in Seyðisfjörður and in Iceland in general. The future of the museum is uncertain but also interesting. We are optimistic and hope to open the museum soon in a new location where we will emphasize the characteristics of the museum as a living museum with various workshops and courses. We are currently working on safeguarding the collection that survived the landslide, cleaning, organizing and working towards the reconstruction of this fascinating museum.
Jóhann Hansson's Mechanical Shop 1907
THE BOY FROM DJÚPIVOGUR - ONLINE EXHIBITION
The old telegraph station, otherwise called Wathneshus, was originally built in 1894 as the residence of Norwegian entrepreneur Otto Wathne. In connection with the laying of the submarine cable from the mainland to Iceland, the Great Nordic Telecommunications Company bought the house and opened the country's first telegraph station on August 25, 1906. The government acquired the house in 1926 and the Post and Telecommunications company gave the town of Seyðisfjörður it as a museum in 1973. It now has exhibitions on the second floor. The exhibition explains the arrival of the telegraph line and how it laid the line to Reykjavik. There are telegraph machines of the old telegraph station as well as object related to the communications through the 20th Century.
--- DASHES & DOTS ··· - ONLINE EXHIBITION
Technical Museum of East Iceland // Hafnargata 38-44 // (00354) 4721696 // email@example.com